New eyes

Standard

Since yesterday’s blog I’ve been thinking about how I ‘see’ things. I mentioned that my birthday presents seemed so much more vivid this year than last. And i know this has nothing to do with the presents- they were as colourful, quirky and funky as this year. the difference was me. i can ow see things in colour a bit more, instead of just monochrome. and i like that feeling very much.

This morning i was reading a chapter from Mark Williams’ and Danny Penman’s book entitled ‘mindfulness- a practical guide to finding peace in a frantic world.’the beginning of chapter 3 starts with this quote:

“The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking out new landscapes but in having new eyes. (Attrib. Marcel Proust, 1871-1922)

I think this sums up the process I am currently in. Seeing myself, God, others and the world around me with different eyes. It reminded me of the account of Hagar and Ishmael in the Old Testament book of Genesis. They had been expelled from Abraham’s household and Hagar places her son Ishmael under a bush as she couldn’t bear to see him die. The account says- “God heard the boy crying… Then God opened her eyes and she saw a well of water.” (Genesis 21 verses 17-19)

I do not know whether the well was already there and God enabled her to see what was previously hidden from her or whether God supernaturally created a well in that moment. Both options to me are equally miraculous- His creative power in creating a well or enabling her eyes to see His provision previously hidden because of her distress. Either way, ‘God opened her eyes’. I want that to continue so that I can see both those things in front of me and those things yet unseen more clearly whether they are the colours of a spoon or the depths of His love.

Thanks for listening.

One response »

Leave a Reply

