a lovely moment

Standard

My running continues 🙂 and I had a couple of moments this morning that have really encouraged me…

Firstly the context! The app I am using is Couch to 5k in 8 weeks. My friend Florence who knows a  lot about running said that was far to quick for me- I was very happy to agree!  (Incidentally, I was talking to someone else a couple of days a go and she did Couch to 5k in 4 weeks!!!…that is giving it some!)

I am really happy to go slow and low… the long burn… consistency… safety… so I have chosen to repeat each exercise, taking my journey from Couch to 5K in 16 weeks.

This morning, on the repeat of the exercise from two days ago- it felt easier… how cool is that!!! I am hurting, but I still think it is new to running hurting not disease hurting. But it was definitely easier.

Secondly, as I was thinking about the 16 week time scale, I mused as to whether I should try and find a 5K run to join in about 4 months time. Yes, I could… but I had that moment of freedom of remembering, it is about the process for me not the goal. I don’t feel the need to have an end goal at the moment. My goal is to run every other day. Nothing more, nothing less.

I want to shout it from the roof tops… TODAY, I, Hepzibah, 43, 5 ft 7 inches, female, overweight, unfit, not been able to run for 18 years,   WENT FOR A RUN….  I WENT FOR A RUN… I WENT FOR A RUN… 

However, before I get carried aaa y with myself- I went out with my friends dog, Terri. Her owner was concerned that the dog wouldn’t be able to keep up with me. I assured Anthea that Terri had nothing to worry about. In fact, when I started running the dog had to slow down as my walking is faster than my running… which made me laugh! Paula Radcliffe need not worry… however, Hepzibah needs to be very proud.

I leave you with the cutest dog…Terri

Berri

Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

